Daily Archives: March 22, 2009

The Nature of the Universe

So.

It’s after 1 in the morning, and I find myself awake, at the keyboard, and struggling with the dual urges to write something and head to bed.  Oddly enough, writing won out, at least for now, so here we are.  The sun has been down for several hours now, there is an odd, autumnal bite to the spring night air, and I find myself chewing on random thoughts as they tumble across my sleep-fogged mind.

1.  There is no blue food.  Not an original thought, this one is from George Carlin.  But it is an interesting thought.  And blueberries aren’t really blue.  They’re purple.  Which brings me to my next thought.

2.  Where the hell did the flavor “Blue Raspberry” come from?  Raspberries are red.  RED, PEOPLE!

3.  What if you meet your soul mate, and decide you don’t like them?

5.  Holy crap, what happened to FOUR?

6.  In retrospect, number 5 is a lot funnier if your really tired.

7.  Has Hollywood really so completely run out of ideas for horror movies that they have to remake horror movies from the 80’s?  Friday the 13th was a bad movie when it was made the first time.  And now they’re remaking A Nightmare on Elm Street and Hell Raiser.  sigh.

8.  Penguins have an organ that filters excess salt from their bodies.  This salt is excreted through their noses.  I have no idea why I know that.

9.  It is possible to love many people.  I believe that perhaps it is possible to be IN long with only one person at a time.  I an deeply thankful that I met the person I can be in love with, and married her.

10.  Monkeys know something.  When we figure it out, it will blow our minds.

11.  When I was in high school, and a couple of kids wanted to fight, they just got together and beat the crap out of each other.  They used their fists.  Nobody pulled a knife, nobody had a gun.  They just beat the snot out of each other.  LEAVE THE DAMN GUNS AT HOME, YOU TWITS!

12.  I consistently confuse the difference between bourbon, scotch, and whiskey.  I use the terms interchangeably.  Which is weird, because I don’t really care for bourbon, but like scotch.

13.  Still haven’t found number 4.

14.  Sometimes, late at night, I really, really miss being a kid.

Leave a comment

Filed under Brain Leavings