The Last Day of Smoking

Well, folks, it has come down to this.

The Pack Rat is quitting smoking.

Today I smoke my last cigarettes.  Tomorrow we put on a patch and cross our fingers.

So, we have stocked up on what we need to accomplish this task.  Namely, nicotine patches.  Already the patch will be saving cash.  One box is 53 bucks, plus change.  That lasts two weeks.  A carton of cigarettes last a bit under that, also at 53 bucks.  So, nicotine patches, in theory, should save me 53 bucks a week.

Plus, I won’t die of cancer, which is always a bonus.

So, to make this more entertaining for you all, because my devolution into a gibbering mass due to withdrawal may not be fun enough, each day we will post my progress regarding the quitting of the cigarettes, including how many, if any, cigarettes I have smoked that day.  Hopefully it will be zero, since smoking while on the patch really gives me a headache.  A really nasty one.

Oh, and try not to get too excited just yet.  I have tried to quit a couple of times before.  The fact that we are doing it again would imply that those two different times didn’t work.

But, third time is to charm, right?

Wish me luck, folks.  

Oh, some stats, for those that are interested.

I am 36.

I have smoked since I was 17, at roughly a pack a day.

At the current rate that I smoke, if I don’t quit, I will be lucky to live until I’m 60.

I know this.  I know smoking is stupid.  It is also terribly addictive, and this is what keeps me smoking.  I don’t blame the tobacco companies.  I blame myself.  It was my choice to begin smoking.

It is my choice to quit.

Leave a comment

Filed under Quitting

Leave a comment